New wineskins

I used to blog over at a different site, one that I had going for a couple of years.  It’s been nearly 3 years since I have written over there.  When I recently got the bug to start writing again, I battled a bit with the decision of whether to continue with the original blog, or to start a new one.  I started a new one. 

It’s interesting to look back and see the time frame for when I became “silent” on my previous blog.  At that time, Kris and I were weathering a really difficult storm, and we had a pile of things going on around us that were affecting us.  It’s interesting, though, because when I stopped writing was when the worst of the storm was already behind us.  It was like I looked back from my place of safety, when life was good, and just didn’t feel the need to write in that capacity anymore.  

That storm still rages, but we are still inside the safest freight liner around, and we hardly feel the waves.  Even in the heat of what was going on, we really only felt a little bump every now and then.  But the most amazing thing is how that storm has changed us.  Kris and I are the same people as we’ve always, but we’re different in every way.  Is that even possible?!  

God used that season to shape and mold us.  He used it to bring us up to a deeper level of knowing Him, and a deeper understanding of His truth and His heart towards us.  We are the same, but totally different.  Which is where the decision about my blog became muddy.  I wanted to honour where I came from, but I feel like I left that old person behind a long time ago.  About 3 years, to be exact.    

What eventually tipped the scale in favour of a new blog was the following verse about wineskins:

“And no one puts new wine into old wineskins.  For the wine would burst the wineskins, and the wine and the skins would both be lost.  New wine calls for new wineskins.”  (Mark 2:22)

Yes.  I am totally new wine, and new wine needs to be put into new wineskins.

Welcome to my new wineskins.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

